View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2009, 10:20 PM
hdawg's Avatar
hdawg hdawg is offline
Proprietor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,257
Blog Entries: 147
Default KB16307 - Actions that the BlackBerry smartphone performs during a BlackBerry wipe

KB16307 - Actions that the BlackBerry smartphone performs during BlackBerry smartphone wipe processes


Environment

  • BlackBerry® Enterprise Server version 4.1 or later with the latest IT policy template applied
  • BlackBerry® Device Software version 4.3 or later



Overview

When the BlackBerry smartphone permanently deletes its stored user and application data, it performs specific actions, depending on the type of device wipe performed:

Type of device wipe

Standard security wipe
Factory default wipe

with Include third party applications option turned off
with Include third party applications option turned on

Device wipe actions

deletes user data
X
X
X

deletes corporate PIN-to-PIN encryption key
X
X
X

deletes master encryption key
X
X
X

unbinds IT policy
X
X
X

unbinds smart card
X
X
X

deletes password history
X

deletes stored BlackBerry® Mobile Data System (BlackBerry MDS) device policy
X

deletes record of time elapsed since the BlackBerry device was last turned on
X

deletes stored IT policy
X

deletes third-party applications
X
X

overwrites BlackBerry device memory
X
X
X

performs a scrub of BlackBerry device memory if content protection is turned on
X
X
X




Additional Information

For more information about performing a scrub of BlackBerry smartphone memory, see "Appendix D: BlackBerry device wipe process" in the BlackBerry Enterprise Solution Security Technical Overview.
For more information about BlackBerry smartphone wipe processes, see Erasing File Systems on BlackBerry Devices Technical Overview.
__________________
http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links