View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2009, 11:22 AM
hdawg's Avatar
hdawg hdawg is offline
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,257
Blog Entries: 147
Default KB04433 - Event log levels

KB04433 - Event log levels


  • BlackBerry® Enterprise Server 4.0
  • IBM® Lotus® Domino®


Events logged by the BlackBerry Enterprise Server may be assigned one of the five following severity levels:

Event Value
Severity Level

Each log line or log message in a BlackBerry Enterprise Server log file has an Event ID (usually a five-digit number) associated with it. The first digit of the Event ID represents the severity level.
For example, the Event ID [40076] refers to a debug level event.
When configuring the level of events to log, select a number from 1 to 4 (you do not need to record level 5 events). The value you select includes events from that level and any higher levels. For example, if the log level is set to 2, events with a severity level of warning and error are logged. If the log level is set to 4, all events are logged.
The BlackBerry Enterprise Server records log information in two locations.
  1. The BlackBerry Enterprise Server debug logs; these are saved in .txt format.

    By default, these are saved in C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry Enterprise Server\Logs\<DATE>
  2. The Microsoft Windows Event Viewer Application Log.

The BlackBerry Enterprise Server can be configured to log only certain levels of events, as well as different levels of information to each of the above locations.
Configuring Logging Levels
To configure the logging level for the BlackBerry Enterprise Server debug logs, go to the BlackBerry® Server Configuration Tool and click on the logging tab. You can set individual logging levels for the various BlackBerry services and components. You should set all the levels to 4.
To configure the logging level for the Event Viewer Application Log
  1. Open the Registry Editor.
  2. Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Research In Motion\BlackBerry Enterprise Server\Logging Info
  3. Choose the key you want to change and double-click theEventLogLevel DWORD Value in that key.
  4. Enter a value from 1 to 4 in the Value data field and click OK.
  5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 for each key you want to change.
  6. Close the Registry Editor.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links