View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2009, 04:13 PM
hdawg's Avatar
hdawg hdawg is offline
Proprietor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,257
Blog Entries: 147
Default KB16109 - What is the difference between a HARD and SOFT delete when deleting users

KB16109 - What is the difference between a HARD and SOFT delete when deleting users on the BlackBerry Enterprise Server


Environment

BlackBerry® Enterprise Server



Overview

After deleting two BlackBerry smartphone users, the BlackBerry Manager logs shows the first BlackBerry smartphone user as HARD deleted while the other as SOFT deleted.
[30000] (09/10 10:20:49.005):{0xDB8} User id=389 (BlackBerry, One) successfully queued for HARD deletion.
[30000] (09/10 10:20:54.959):{0xDB8} User id=54 (BlackBerry, Two) successfully queued for SOFT deletion.
The difference between HARD and SOFT delete is determined by how the BlackBerry smartphone user is removed from the BlackBerry Manager. When a BlackBerry smartphone user is deleted from the BlackBerry Manager, the administrator is prompted to delete the BlackBerry Information from the messaging server or BlackBerry Configuration Database. If Yes is selected, the information is deleted and the action is recorded as a HARD delete in the manager logs. If No is selected, the information remains intact and the action is recorded as a SOFT delete in the manager log.
__________________
http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links